Can French bank ask about source of money?

EM

I've had an account with Societe Generale for about 18 months. I'm studying in France and am listed as "student" in the bank's records. A month or two ago I transferred some money into the account (wire transfer from overseas), more than doubling my usual balance (but we're not talking millions here or anything!) Today I received a voicemail from the bank and, as best I could understand the fast French, they think I have a bit too much money for a student and want me to call back to "update my status" or something like that.

I will, of course, call back and confirm that I am indeed still a student. Can they then ask me about how I happened to have this money? What can they do if I refuse to answer? Are there French laws about what a bank can and cannot ask? There's nothing dodgy going on, but I don't feel that I should have to explain that, let alone prove it. To my mind, this is nobody's business, but my own. In fact, I don't know why they even care whether I'm a student or not enough to call me. (I don't receive any student discounts from them.)

Yes they can but if it's something legit then don't worry yourself.

Anything over 12K (i think but that limit may have been reduced now) is automatically queried but if you have something into your account that is "not normal" they can query it.

Just think yourself lucky that you don't have a UK visa card. Every time I use it to top-up my mobile it gets flagged as a fraudulent transaction and the card is blocked. It takes 30-60minutes to unblock it.

OK, so they can ask, but what can they do if I tell them "ca ne vous concerne pas", which I have a good mind to do? Can they freeze my account, for example, just because I refuse to discuss my financial situation with them?

I'm not sure it's the banks business to quiz deposits or transfers but under international money laundering rules sums in excess of €10k (I believe) are notifiable to the tax authorities.