Window cleaning

trastu

Hi everyone

I really wasn't sure which section to post this in so if it's the wrong one would a moderator kindly put it in a more appropriate one for me?

This is probably a bit of a daft question but here goes:

I have been working as a cleaner in the home of a french couple for the past few months and the lady has told me (by email) that since they will be on holiday next week she wants me to clean the inside and the OUTSIDE of the windows.

Before moving to France I worked as a cleaner in the homes of individuals for over 20 years and never once was I asked to do the outside of the windows.

Is it normal practice in France to ask your cleaning lady to do this? I wouldn't mind if it was a bungalow and all the windows were on one level but it is a house and I would need a ladder to reach the top windows!!

Would the lady think I was being totally unreasonable if I refused to do it? I can't afford to lose the job but I really don't fancy going up a ladder to clean windows either.

Any thoughts anyone?

[quote user="trastu"] I wouldn't mind if it was a bungalow and all the windows were on one level but it is a house and I would need a ladder to reach the top windows!! [/quote]

But don't all first-floor windows in French houses open inwards? Ours do, which makes for easy cleaning of both inside and out.

[quote user="suein56"]

... which makes for easy cleaning of both inside and out. [/quote]

Well what I meant to say was easier cleaning rather than easy, as cleaning windows is not my favourite occupation.

It is still a mammoth task you will have there, hope you are being paid by the hour!

Anyone looking to start an AE business with the sole aim of gaining healthcare should register as a window cleaner.

You will have no problems regarding chambre de metiers, qualifications etc and no local artisans getting bent out of shape.