Ride on mowers

PaulT

how big is the garden /area to be cut? the brico type machines are OK for small area's - do you want to collect? I have a 21hp diesel Kubota, but I do it for a living - (cut grass that is!) Fab machine but lists out at 12k€ - there is a smaller one for about 6 or 8k I think. Keep well clear of Countax (British and in my experience total rubbish). John Deere are also very good I have one of those too 550 hrs on it and its abused (cut rough area's and woodland trails with it!) no real problems, but it doesnt collect. Good value for money.

If you buy in October, your 1 year guarantee will be half way used up by the time you need it in the spring.

Steve

I've bought a few bits and pieces for the garden - all from my local motoculture shop.  Bernard the owner is a motorbike fan too.....[;-)]

Whenever I've wanted something, he's advised me on the machine I need and he's been unfailingly spot-on.

I recently decided to buy a sit-on mower to make it easier to cut all my lawns and small paddocks.  I also have a one acre grass field - I used to know a local farmer who'd cut if for me but he's now retired and I can't find anyone else reliable.  Bernard came out to the house and checked out the situation, then after a couple of whiskies, he recommended a Stiga (Swedish) with auto transmission, big grass collector box and a mulching system - total cost 2,370€ including an unprompted 10% discount.  He delivered it that afternoon in his van, then to check it was working OK, he proceeded to start mowing the field for me!  And, as he was off on his holidays that night, he said he'd sort out the bill on his return.....

So far, the mower has been fine (I take the collector box off for cutting the field and do it in small sections when it's dry).

Now, I don't know whether I could have gotten a better deal through a 'chain', but I'm supporting my local business and if anything goes amiss, I know I've got Bernard around to sort it out pronto.