OK I'll start.

My medium is Oak, usually three dimensional work but no rules as to what I make, it could be chainsaw carving one week or a piece of furniture the next.  I'm not an artist, joiner or carpenter, I just interpret through Oak. I can only do what I want to do, anything else is prostitution and back to chasing money. I don't work to plans but I do have to have a clear picture in my mind before I start work on a project. I hate money but have a family to support and social charges to pay. The more I think I know the more I realise I've only just started to learn.

Chris

I started as a young tree surgeon/forester and just grew to be in awe of Oak. To be up in the crown of an old Oak responsible for it's care meant nothing in the beginning but grew to mean alot more. Living beings several hundred years old infected me and they have become my life. It might seem anorakky but it's just one of those things in life that I don't really understand nor can really quantify.

Is the medium itself important to an artist or just a means to expression?

Chris

I was just wondering, with the amount of different woods available in France, why you work with oak in particular - although I can see it must be very satisfying and the way green oak colours to a silver grey over the years I think is lovely. Our eldest son trained and worked  as a tree surgeon, but gave it up as he found it was starting to put quite a strain on his back and shoulders.

[quote user="Chris Head"]

Is the medium itself important to an artist or just a means to expression?

Chris

[/quote]

For me i would have to say the medium is what is important. I'm a metalworker, nonpracticing unfortunately at the moment as i am waiting to sort out a workshop. I prefer to work with the material to see what develops rather than plan and draw too much first. It's a love of the material that inspires me.

Louise