Ticks again.

Jaybee

Can you advice me please,my dog was treated with Advantage before we came three weeks ago, and I brought some with me so I plan to use it again tonight, however in the last few days I have picked at least 10 ticks off him, I check him all the time so I don't think any have burrowed in, but one or two have been quite large so they must have made a meal of him. He is well and bright so when do they die, I have had no experience of anything like this before. He is a Bearded Collie but I have decided to keep his hair short here. The thing is when do I have to worry,or see a vet, and do I just pull the ticks off. Comments and experiences greatly appreciated.

With our dog, cats and horses, we have always just pulled them out and none of our animals have ever seemed to suffer ill- effects, even after the ticks seemed to have been there a while.
I give the cats (or rather one cat at the moment)a check every night, which they enjoy.
Personally I wouldn't worry too much, though. Think you are doing the right thing by keeping hair short, so you can at least see any "intruders".

Em

Please don't just pull them out - you could leave the head in which might go septic. The best thing to do is to screw them out - they literally unscrew anti-clockwise but do it gently so as not to break off the head - they do give in if you do it gently and then just splat - tread on it! You can buy a little plastic hook like a crochet hook which you hook in under the head and then unscrew (as above).

I use Frontline all over SPRAY for the dog - I haven't found other brands or formulations very effective at all against ticks whereas we have have never seen Bonzo with a tick after Frontline spray (the drops between the shoulders formulation doesn't work either).