So how much DO you pay?

Jo53

How much do professionales liberales really pay in cotisations (ie roughly what % of earnings)? I'm doing some financial planning before registering. Using the cotisations calculator on the CNAM/ANPE website, it seemed that on an income of 25,000 euro I would pay 30% of my income in cotisations (impots not an issue as we have 3 children at home). I can cope with 30%. But is this the whole picture? I'm panicking a bit seeing people posting about working 7 months a year for the government, and other cotisation horror stories.

Am I missing something (eg another set of charges)? I am a journalist/writer/editor: I won't employ anyone and I can't imagine I need insurances. The calculation I used on the website was for accountants, as there wasn't a category for writers. Could there be a big variation?

Also, if both my husband and I are liberales, each earning about the same, do we pay two independent sets of cotisations, each calculated as though we were single, or do we pay them as a couple?

Any enlightenment appreciated!

best wishes

Jo

[quote]How much do professionales liberales really pay in cotisations (ie roughly what % of earnings)? I'm doing some financial planning before registering. Using the cotisations calculator on the CNAM/ANPE ...[/quote]

Hello Jo53,

Could you explain the bit about impots not being an issue as you have 3 children at home?

[quote]Hello Jo53, Could you explain the bit about impots not being an issue as you have 3 children at home?[/quote]

Hi