Carpentry or HGV

1simon1

I will be moving to the Limousin area in Feb 2007. I am a carpenter from the building industry and this will be my main source of work (hopefully). I am considering taking my HGV  in England and using it in France as a possible alternative income. Am I correct in believing that this is a european license?.

Will I need to take further tests to be able to drive over there?.

I am far from fluent in the language but I am trying very hard to learn. I am wary of setting up shop as an Artisan and then not being able to use the HGV qualification.

Here is some information which may be relevant to you as a new LGV licenceholder coming to live in France and considering looking for employment here:

The "top" UK LGV (artic) licence is a category C+E licence which is the same as category E(C) in France, ie. vehicle with a PTAC >3.5 tonnes and trailer > 750kg.

All licences issued by an EU state are valid in all other EU states, so your UK LGV licence would be valid for driving in France.  If you wish, you may exchange your UK licence for a French one and you will receive the same entitlements as on your existing licence. You will be subject to period medical tests, as in the UK.

There are a number of additional training/qualification requirements for driving in France.

FIMO: Formation Initial Minimum Obligatoire (obligatory minimum initial training) - 4 week initial commercial driver training course, obligatory for all new LGV licence holders.

CFP: Certificat de Formation Professionel (Professional Training Certificate) - 350 hours training with choice of certificate in delivery driving/long distance(artics)/dangerous materials. The certificate is recognised as a key qualification by French transport companies.