Can an Artisan be a micro-enterprise?

Bastet

Hi all,

I've read lots of posts on this & other forums but can't find an answer to my specific situation, so here goes.

I'm a carpenter/joiner (city & guilds qualified) with 20 years experience in the construction industry. My last few years in the UK were spent in property maintenance & there I learnt most of the other trades. So I ideally would like to offer a similar service in France, but I don't want/need to work full-time, hence my query as to if it could be possible to do this under a micro-enterprise type company.

From what I've read it would not be possible to LEGALLY offer to do all trades, but gather people do register as one thing & then do anything they're asked to do. I don't want to do anything where I'm going to be looking over my shoulder, or possibly causing ill feeling amongst my French neighbours/artisans.

So does anyone know, with cast-iron certainty, what I can do? I guess my trade would be comparable to a menuisere, which seems to offer a range of jobs. I'm not against limiting myself to one trade skill-set, but don't want to limit myself if it's not necessary, as customers love it when you can come in & do the whole thing start to finish.

Lastly can I please point out that it is not my wish to set up as a micro to avoid paying excessive insurance, coitisations, whatever. As I've said I'm in the fortunate position of not having to work full-time & the €27k P.A would be more than enough for us. I realise that it would mean the customers would have to buy materials & I would make this clear from the start, also I would opt for the sans assurance dec' like a lot of the french artisans around here, as that would help keep my costs down, insurance wise.

Thanks to everyone for looking & all help/opinions offered. I would also like to ask that people don't hijack this post please[;-)]

Hi