"Request" to register for french tax

Ian

I've just received a (standard) letter from the "Directeur Generale des Impots".

My french isn't very good but I think it's saying something along the lines of

"....We have not received your tax return for 2007, due by 30/05/2008. This is a legal requirement. Even if you are not liable to pay tax (?), it is in your interests to complete this, as it is proof of your status, which may help you.

If you have not completed this return, and wish to avoid being penalised, please complete and return the form you should have received.. Or get another one from us......etc etc"

I still have a house in the UK and have bank statements etc sent to my UK address, but as of this year, I feel I am a french resident - registered with CPAM in April, etc. - so will happily (?) fill this year's tax return, next spring. As far as 2007 is concerned though, I was a UK resident (at least, I think

so). We bought the french house in September 2007, but the first few

months here were really a working holiday, spent making the house

habitable. I was still paying UK tax,  returning every so often to the

UK.

Can I persuade them I was a UK resident for 2007, and if so, will this remove the need to fill in the tax return as they ask?

TIA

Hi!

Here are the 3 conditions ( each can be taken separately) under which you can become a French fiscal resident ( which is different from having your main residence here ( I hope you can read this  link).

http://droit-finances.commentcamarche.net/contents/impot-revenu/imp10-impot-sur-le-revenu-notion-de-residence-fiscale.php3

Now important could be :

1. How long have you been living there this year?

2. If you have children, do they go to school?

3. Have you registered for a Carte Vitale?

If you stayed there, there is a presumption that it is your residence principale.