Home Study Courses

LJB

Not sure if I should have started a new topic or continued with the thread for the OU courses / Alliance Francaise...?! Anyway, I did O-Grade french at school approximately 15 years ago and since have only really got to practise my french skills on annual holidays. We are now moving to France (24) in March...Help! I am not a beginner in the language but I am not quite at the next level either. The evening classes in my area are not suitable as the Beginners french is too basic (teacher's words - not mine!!) and the Intermadiate class too difficult. I currently have one private lesson per week but have no material to study in between lessons. The books provided are completely in french and so are not really much use as there is lots I don't understand. I feel I need a home study course where there are set goals to work towards etc. Having read some of the posts the OU beginners french course appeared to be the answer however the next start date isn't until November 2005! Does anyone know of any other similar home study courses (Alliance Francaise?) - preferably not expensive - or any other ways to study at home such as software for the computer or any books, videos which are good? Please help, I'm getting desperate!!!

Have a look at the BBC's French Experience course. It comes with a book, audio visual CD and many other add on's. Many evening classes use it as their course materiel but it can also be used independently. As you are not a complete beginner I would imagine with the help of the materials what you learnt 15 years ago will jog your memory enough to be able to handle the grammer etc. If you like the course why not get your private french tutor to work though it with you.