Cover for Long Term Ill Health

I do  not work, but receive a pension (tax paid in UK) from my previous employer.    I have been paying into CMU since Jan 2005 (having used up my 2 years E106 from Jan 2003), and I believe, will be eligible to qualify as a 'permanent ' French resident on1 Jan 2008.  Since June 2006 I receive 100% cover for a long term condition (RA) - this covers medication etc for this condition only.    However, I have today received a letter from CPAM informing me that I will no  longer be able to benefit from CMU after 31.3.08.   I can appeal this decision, but in light of the recent announcement I thought that I would be covered automatically.   My French language skills are a little lacking, can anyone offer advice as to how I can best resolve  my situation?

Many thanks

K    

[quote user="Kay"]

I do  not work, but receive a pension (tax paid in UK) from my previous employer.    I have been paying into CMU since Jan 2005 (having used up my 2 years E106 from Jan 2003), and I believe, will be eligible to qualify as a 'permanent ' French resident on1 Jan 2008.  Since June 2006 I receive 100% cover for a long term condition (RA) - this covers medication etc for this condition only.    However, I have today received a letter from CPAM informing me that I will no  longer be able to benefit from CMU after 31.3.08.   I can appeal this decision, but in light of the recent announcement I thought that I would be covered automatically.   My French language skills are a little lacking, can anyone offer advice as to how I can best resolve  my situation?

Many thanks

K    

[/quote]Sounds like your CPAM jumped the gun and sent your letter before the new rules came out.  Give them a couple of days to figure out what the new circular means - although the 5 year rule is clearly confirmed - and go back to them.  Take all your tax returns proving your five year's residence and you should be a shoe-in.

• 4 weeks later...

Thanks for your help.