Course to start up a business?

Hev&Jon

Hi Everyone,

My husband is a floor and wall tiler by trade but can do a bit of everything in the building trade really.

We're moving to the Aveyron in March and although we have enough savings to last us a year or so, if there's work available then he wouldn't turn it down.

I've read about the difficulties in setting up a small business in France, and have also heard that there's a course you can go on to find out everything you need to do to set up a business.  I've also heard that it doesn't have to be the person setting up the business who goes on the course (i.e. it could be me that takes the course instead).

If anyone knows of such a course which is held in the Aveyron (in English) please let me know.

Thanks,

Heather.

The Stage de Gestion is held by the local Chambre de Metiers for all persons wishing to set up in business as a tradesman etc. You have to do the course to get registered for a SIRET number and be swallowed by the ever-hungry for money french social charge system. All you need to know about running a french registered business will be covered, don't expect it to be in english though and be prepared to pay out once you are registered. Your nearest large town should have a Chambre where you need to apply, courses are usually run every few months or so depending on numbers applying to make it worth while as it lasts five full days and you have to pay for it.

Hello Heather

First of all welcome to the lovely bit of France - whereabouts are you going in the Aveyron?