Skills and Qualifications do they Transfer?

mistael

I am majoring in french and my wife is majoring in biology. She will probly work in a hospital or do something medical. Would there be any problems with Qualifications for her? What kind of job could you get with a french major in france?

I plan to go to school in france and try to live there for 5 years to get citizenship..

Oh I am from the USA if that helps!

Thanks

Hello and welcome to the forum!

Having done a joint honours degree myself (I'm sorry, I am not even 100% sure what majoring means, is it that you do other subjects?), in history and French, I can safely say that a degree in French doesn't take you very far. I take degree to mean that you will end up with an equivalent to bac +3 or bac +4. With this could apply for a variety of very general jobs, but you'd obviously be up against many other candidates. In reality, if you live here and study French you will be fluent, but employees will be more interested in your English! My experience of living here has been that it has been easy to find teaching work in a big city, but it is not well paid, although better than the SMIC. There are a lot of vocational qualifications available in France, and these are very attractive to employers, lots of job advertisement specify a BTS. BTS is the name of a qualification and they are available for things like tourism, administration, sales etc

I am sorry not to be able to be more positive, but my experience has been that being bilingual is not enough.

Good luck

I am majoring in french and my wife is majoring in biology. She will probly work in a hospital or do something medical. Would there be any problems with Qualifications for her? What kind of job could you get with a french major in france?

I plan to go to school in france and try to live there for 5 years to get citizenship..

Oh I am from the USA if that helps!