Any chance of getting employment in France?

Nadia

Anglo/French couple seeking employment in France from September 2006. 

47-year-old English man currently ICT teacher in secondary school, looking for opportunities using IT in France (Western regions preferred).  Reasonably fluent in French.

43-year-old French woman currently language teacher in FE college, seeking any sort of teaching of languages (English at any level, Spanish at beginners level).

Nadia,

Not impossible but you have to be prepared for lots of letters and a wait. My partner and I (both teachers in the UK), with reasonable french but still working on it, have taught at various places through doing the following: write to all the lycées in your area, the Inspection Aca, associations and even the temp agencies.

So i've been a replacement teacher in a public lycée (fashion) through a direct letter to them and now I'm an intervenante d'anglais for 8-11yr olds after writing to the Insp and waiting a term for them to respond!

My partner has taught english in a public collège (it wasn't for him), did private holiday teaching for some kids, he's done/ doing evening classes for adults (which demands lots of prep) and is also an english assist in a lycée (that came through a temp agency!) which is less prep but less pay too.

We've both turned down teaching work.

We know we're not 'in' the system as proper teachers, but at the minute we're happy with these supporting roles and we can always apply (do the tests, jump the loops etc) to change that in the future.

Oh and as you've got the language teaching experience that's already a plus as we've built ours up here.