Back to work

Paul Gandy

I have been in Dordogne for 6 months renovating my house and a big barn into two cottages. We decided to do the cottages first to be ready for this summer but alas we have not made our target and it seems we will have to open later... Not a big problem. However now that the rush is off and we can take a little more time getting things ready I am looking towards maybe taking on some part time work so as not to eat into the budget we have set aside to renovate our house while we wait for our income to start..

I am not a builder by trade however there isnt anything I haven't done from roofing to electrics whilst here in france when turning the barn into cottages.

I was wondering weather there was anyone out there who was tempted to take on a job but thought they might need a little help and muscle... If so many hands make lighter work.

As I said I am not a builder but incredibly handy ( you can visit my work )and armed with everything from a Kango to a cement mixer the works...so if you need a little help for a little fee.... email me...

[email protected]
I am inbetween Riberac and Perigueux and dont mind travellig 75km

I know these threads can sometimes get out of hand but I am genuinely interested in your situation Phil, so I have to ask the question, which is in no way intended to be provocative! - are you registered to work in France? If so how can you afford to work only part-time & cover all the costs involved? I was in the building game in the UK & have been living here for 7 months now. We have enough to do just now with our own renovations, but eventually I'm going to have to work & the apparent costs involved really worry me.

If you're not a registered artisan do you know of a cheaper way of setting your self up in business, which allows people to work part-time & still keep the authorities happy. I presume, like me, you'll be doing multi-trade jobs.

thanks for any help you can give
best wishes
Tony