relocating to Ile de France

Cec

Hi everyone,

Im a French journalist writing on English people relocating to France. Im trying to understand what seems to me a new trend and to do this, I need to get in contact with the most people I can so as I dont write wrong things. Ive already been in contact with British newly established near Carcassonne (aude), Le Grand Bourg (Limousin) and some about to move in Brittany and Charente.
Id be very interested to discuss with whoever would like about their experience, why and how theyve decided to do make the big step, why this region etc.
My photographer and I are also planning to report in England and see people there, explaining and showing why theyve decided to move.
Id really appreciate if you took a couple of minutes to discuss with me.
Thank you
Ccile

your'll find that most people that move to Ile de France do so for a completely different reason that the rest of France. it is usually for professional reasons. - jobs, relocated by company , secondments to European office etc etc. I have the feeling that the majority (but not all) of people moving to other regions of France do so in order to live a more simple rural life.

regs

Richard

• 5 months later...
We have relocated to the Gers,but are now relocating to Paris.However,the most impossible thing to do in Paris is to get a house to rent if you are English and do not have 30 years of French tax returns!We have offered to pay agents a years rent in advance,but still can't convince them of our worthiness.Perhaps unless you are posted to Paris from another country it is impossible to rent there and therefore no one moves there!

• 7 months later...

Hi Richardbk,

I aggree fully with yopur comments - most British people I have met in IDF have moved due to work (like me).

JLO,

I understand very well how hard it is to get a place in Paris without. My advice is ;