Hello Austin

Chris Head

We got our very own woodwork teacher now! How cool is that! That's great for those of us who have many more questions than answers....

Anyway, welcome aboard....the section has been a bit quiet recently.

So now it's playtime for you Austin what do you do? Do you have a particular style or subject that you follow? You must have seen many changes to the wood world over the years...what's good nowadays and what's not so good?

Hope you post often Austin, it can be a fun place to be, we have the occasional scrap (although the main culprits seem to have founds pastures new[6])...and the womenfolk of the forum barge in from time to time but other than that, there's some keen workers of wood around.

Chris

• 4 weeks later...

Good to meet you, Chris, and apologies for not replying earlier.

Actually, I was a woodwork teacher for only 7 years - prior to that I was in IT - latterly as a project manager.  The last big project I was involved with (NOT on my own, I might add, but with a cast of dozens), was the ubiquitous Year 2000 project.  Remember that one?

To woodwork.  I have been involved in several projects, both at work, and in my own workshop.  At work, we made all sorts of things from toilet roll holders, right up to beautifully crafted oak garden benches.  At homeI have made furniture for both the house, and our boat (it's a sailing yacht of approx 50 years old, built of mahogany on oak frames), a woodwork bench of beech, with a 4inch thick top, an an oak kitchen.