Renting in the Lyon area

Jessica

Hi,

I am intending to move to France for 6 to 9 months from September after I graduate this summer. I have little knowledge of the rental process in France and have a few questions about the rental process. I have some experience of renting in the UK as a student and would like to know what the key differences are and the major pitfalls that I might come across.

In particular, how flexible are rental agreements with regards to duration in general? I definitely want to stay at least 6 months, but it might be more depending on how I get on and my employment status.

Also, I am thinking of Lyon as a possible place - could anyone tell me which are the better areas to rent in? A lot of my searching will have to be done over the internet and so it will be helpful to have an idea of what areas to go for and which to avoid. If anyone can recommend certain agencies or reputable internet sites, I would be very very grateful!

Any other experiences of renting in France would be useful too.

Thank you very much,

Jessica

(1) What sort of standard is your French?

(2) I think there are lots of better places than Lyon (although the centre's nice ... if you can get there ... traffic's awful) but I'm totally diofferent from you. Why are you thinking of Lyon?

Answer those two, and I can give some ideas.

• 2 weeks later...
Hi,

Thanks for your response - sorry to be so slow - my internet has only just been reconnected!