French lessons for grown ups?

panne2004

Hi. We are moving to Pas de Calais in two months time. Does anybody know if there are evening/day classes for adults to learn the language? I have been learning here in England for two years now, so I can get by, but I am worrying that I will not be able to communicate with my son's teachers, doctor, dentist, etc. I have checked the french internet but there doesn't appear to be the same sort of adult education system that we have here. Thanks for your help

Welcome to the forum.

We have 2 choices locally, apart from getting a private tutor, or meeting up with a friend and chatting in both languages. The Universite Populaire (UP); which is very busy, runs many courses for which you are put into a group matching your ability. Ours seems epensive, even compared with groups in UK, where the cost went up enormouusly in recent years.They are run by qualified teachers, who generally run very structured courses.There's also Acceuil de Villes Francaises (AVF), which welcomes new residents to the town, whether they're French people who are moving to a new town, or people from abroad. We pay 25 euros each year for membership of AVF, and then everything we attend is free, apart from outings, theatre trips etc.Everything takes place in French, apart from the language courses. Ours has French, Spanish and English language groups, some at 2 levels. These are led by volunteers, and obviously they choose how to go about things. My OH's group discuss local events, items in newspapers, anything anyone wants to bring up or have explained. At mine we have quite difficult text each time, which we read through and discuss meaning - discussion being a bit hit and miss. 

Maybe one or both of these will be available to you where you'll live. Our AVF branch also  has a variety of craft and walking groups etc, so can be part of an active social life. Good luck in your move.  [:)]