Living & Working in La Manche

Clare Comrie

I say La Manche, as the market is so varied wherever you go in France.

We moved over permanently three years ago, after having our house for 18 years as a holiday home, and having sold up in the UK.

We started a business, HA HA!! We might have made it, my husband is a sign writer and silk screen printer by trade. However, we failed to notice the warning signs, and unfortunately he sufferd a cardiac attack, followed just as he was recovering nicely by a mini-stroke! Excellent, the cotisations were gushing out, and no money coming in, we had no choice but to fold the business and I went on the job trail! Ably assisted by ASSEDIC, not financially I hasten to add, just CV's ideas etc.

My background was semi-conductor sales for 25 years in the UK, so all I could think of was estate agents, I toured them all!

The very last one, hidden up a side street, asked where I had seen their ad!!! What ad? I replied, the rest is history.

I was contracted as an "independant commerciale" for one year, in that year I earnt 12,000 euros and paid 6,000 euros in VAT and cotisations! It then became a little muddy as to the legality of contracting someone who is not allowed to be truly independant, and they offered me the standard 6 months "contrat determiné" which I refused (theres bravery!!) as I needed a bank loan to buy a car, and I had slaved for them for one year for a pittance, I felt I had nothing to prove. The open contract was duly issued, I earn minimum wage plus commision, actualy they have rigged it so I have to EARN 1000 euros in commision each month to pay my wage, before I get any more, ie: no comission one month, I have to earn 2000 euros the next to be in the positive as it were! This is no critisism of the agency, but the entire system in France is a joke! You pay your own petrol, mobile, car, insurance - the lot. Bit of a change from my company Alpha Romeo and company mobile and free petrol in the UK!