Painter - Starting up?

Saffy

Hi There

We are from England but have been living in New Zealand for the last 5 1/2yrs.

My husband is a time served Painter and Decorator with over 20yrs experience.

We are looking at moving to Brittany.

Can anyone advise us about registration and/or any exta work, exams etc he may have to do to tie his qualification in with what is accepatable in France and for him to be classified as a tradesman.

Our French is very limited but we are studying hard!

Many thanks for any replies

Saff

Hi Saff, Why are you leaving Nz to come to France? I took my family to Nz to check out the big move but my wife just did'nt like it and we understand salaries arn't too high but I still often wonder what if. As far as work goes here get your selves in to the chambre de metiers with any qualifications you have and register. Try to make some contacts for work first though so you hit the ground running.

Welcome Saffy,

I work as a decorator in Mayenne, but I'm employed by a French firm, so my experience will be different from a self employed person, BUT......

Personally I would try to find work with an employer, there is a great shortage of qualified workers in all the building trades and you should stand a good chance of finding work, especially in Brittany which is vibrant and also has lots of English speakers, including many French people ie. potential employers.

If you go down the self employed route, given that you don't speak much French, your target market will be the English, and quite frankly they won't pay someone to do what they think they can do themselves...I speak from experience!  The French pay me twice as much as the English for a bit of work on the side.  I would love to be self employed but there just isn't the work. You need to charge 30 euros per hour to keep a business afloat and they just won't pay it.

I can give you lots of advice and pointers about getting work for a French employer, just PM me and I'll help you all I can.