2003 wine - any suggestions, please?

Jimble

I am no wine expert but I have a few hundred euros to spare and a large cellar, and I know that 2003 was a very good year. Earlier I was advised to wait until 2004 to buy 2003 wine, now the question is where do I go to get the best value - do I take a trip to Bordeaux or Burgundy, go to a local dealer (in La Vienne), or just go to a supermarket (much less fun!).

I would be grateful for any thoughts on how to spend my money ... and I am confident there will be many!

Thanks,

>I am no wine expert but
>I have a few hundred
>euros to spare and a
>large cellar, and I know
>that 2003 was a very
>good year. Earlier I was
>advised to wait until 2004
>to buy 2003 wine, now
>the question is where do
>I go to get the
>best value - do I
>take a trip to Bordeaux
>or Burgundy, go to a
>local dealer (in La Vienne),
>or just go to a
>supermarket (much less fun!).
>
>I would be grateful for any
>thoughts on how to spend
>my money ... and I
>am confident there will be
>many!
>
>Thanks,

Which regions (please) are reporting a good year in 2003? As some of France reported a terrible year in 2002 (particularly in the Rhone and due to the floods) one must be careful. 2003 could well be a great year but on a personal basis I have not seen the early reports as the putting together of the wine does not take place until spring 2004. Juice from the different parcels are now kept separate until the blending takes place. So I am not sure who has said 2003 is a good year?

Normally Rhone (2003) does not get shipped until late 2004 to the export markets as is the situation with Burgundy and Bordeaux. You may be suprised to note that the French do not buy in the main en primeur................we do in the UK. Its almost an exclusive club.

May advice (only on the Rhone) is to go for a drive there stay a week end and buy 1990, 1994 1995 1998 1999 and to a lesser degree 2000 and 2001.