How to gain employment as a Midwife in France

Braveheart

I like many fellow Brits have this romantic notion that I and my family can have a better life across the channel.
I am a qualified nurse and also a Midwife, with special experience in substance misuse and pregnancy, which is my current field of employment. I am very keen to gain employment in France, preferably as a Midwife or Sage-femme !!
If anyone can give me any info on maternity care, hospitals, midwives anything at all to do with this vocation I would be very grateful.
Thanks
Karen
XX

I would have to say that you should be very fluent in French speaking and writing if you are in the medical profession. France like the Uk always needs more medical staff,but the language is an absolute necessity so you don't make serious errors. My english friend who married a frenchman in the 60's has been a nurse here for years and has to converse and write in French only.

Hi Karen,
I am a registered nurse in England, and going on the current trends in nursing in the uk, an ability to speak the English language with any competency does not appear a criteria. In fact, if employing eu nationals a language test cannot be conducted as it is an infringement of human rights. Right or wrong, I would prefer to be competent in my countries language before taking on the care of anyone in a frail, vunerable or compromised position, be it france or england. But with the volume of brits making the move to france, surely a register of british, or english speaking health proffesionals is on the cards,
with interest, sassy.

• 1 month later...
Hello Karen,