Incapacity Benefit and Health Cover

Washy

I promised to bring folk up to date with my laid back application for this service.

Laid back, because I had not really applied for the IB to be paid abroad, I only spoke to my local office about my address change within Cheshire, then I happened to ask if my IB would be paid if I moved to France. "I don't see why not", was the local reply, "I'll send your information to Newcastle for you", which she did very promptly as I had a letter to my Mum's address in the UK asking some more questions. I rang Newcastle to be told the same "I do not see why not, France is a country we work very closely with now", she asked me for my French address to be confirmed in writing with a signature and said they would be in touch. This was in February, today I received a letter telling me that I would still receive my Short Term Incapacity Benefit in France (I had been receiving this for more than 6 months in the UK). They included a form to fill in asking which bank inFrance I wanted my money paid into, but they failed to include the leaflet about this so I cannot sign to say "I have read and understood the leaflet enclosed....", but that is the only hiccough.

Also included with this letter and form was a duly signed and completed E112 form to be taken to CPAM which will entitle me to French medical care.

The only thing that could hold this up now is that I think I may be asked for a Carte de Sejour at CPAM before they continue, and I have not yet applied for this. Can anyone confirm this?

So I am very pleased about this, so far this is the one bit of paperwork that has proved to be very uncomplicated for me in France. Now on with the reregistering of two Land Rovers, and planning permission for polytunnels and renovations etc.........

Hello,