Being Self-Employed

countrygrooms

Hi, we are looking to relocate from Hampshire, UK to France- likely the Limousin region- within the next year or so, taking along with us out two sons who by then will be approx. 2 and 7.

We are not intending to undertake 'employment' in France but would more like to become self employed.

I am a qualified groom/ riding instructor and my husband is a landscaper so potentially we both have the potential to 'potter' about and take up self employment when in France under our respective experience- gardening, riding lessons etc.

Alternatively we would look at buying a property with outbuildings/ gites which can potentially be used as holiday rentals- thus providing us with an income.

How easy is it to become self employed and declare earnings in France- are there various ways to go about it, and how easy is it to set up tax wise compared to the UK.

I know it is reasonably simple in the UK and just a case of declaring yor earnings over the financial year- is it like this in France and what are taxes like compared to the UK.

From what i have researched so far i believe taxes are quite high and it seems quite complicated as social care etc is linked to your income and the info i have found so far seems to be conflicting and confusing!!

Any advice on becoming self-employed would be more than useful just so we can be prepared and decide what we will definately be doing upon our arrival!

On a small scale, and for most types of work, it's eaasy enough to become self-employed in France. For starters look at all the videos available here:

http://thenakedaccountant.wordpress.com/

The simplest route into self employment is to become an auto-entrepreneur:

http://www.pbss-uk.com/AEGuide_March2009_EN.pdf