Complete France Forum

NB Wheat bags can catch fire in microwaves

Kitty

Last night, I was warming up a wheat bag (it acts like a hot water bottle) for 2 minutes in the microwave and it started to catch fire.  Fortunately, I got it out before too much damage was done - just one big black smouldering mess and a ghastly smell (which still lingers in the house).

What could have caused it?

I need to find out so that it does not happen again.  I have been warming up wheat bags for the last 5 years and it has never happened before.

EDIT: Since finding out that wheat bags can be dangerous, I have changed the title of the thread.

Oh Cathy, sorry for laughing [:D][:)][;-)]

It just made me remember when I tried to dry a pair of socks in mine [:D][:D][:D]

I had a similar moment, all ok until they dry out too much maybe.

Stick to the hot water bottle, those high tech solutions are plagued with problems.

Perhaps a tiny piece of metal among the wheat?

I had a fire in my microwave last week when I was softening some butter in a plastic tub. There was a tiny piece of foil still attached to the rim, that's what started it. There was quite a mess [blink]

[quote user="Cat"]

I you google "wheat bag" microwave fire you'll see that you are far from alone in experiencing this problem Cathy.

There is some advice here http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1027144/Grandmother-dies-microwave-bed-warmer-catches-fire.html

[/quote]

I was not on line back then otherwise I could have googled "Can I put socks in the microwave"

[:D]

Thank you one and all.  Interesting article about them, Cat.  I had no idea that I am not alone.  I usually put the bag in the microwave for 4 minutes and quickly walk the dog around the garden.  This time, I did not leave the bag unattended for some reason and only put it on for 2 minutes.  When I took it out of the microwave, I quickly put into water and it continued to smoulder for at least a minute.