Complete France Forum

Can our buyers pull out

torchon

We signed the Compromis de Vente on 27th July, our French buyers now want to pull out.

We have received a letter from the notaire with a form for us to sign cancelling the contract. He is quoting two reasons

1. There are some windows in the barn which overlook a neighbours field and are too close to the boundary.

2. One of the barn walls is in  a bad condition and will take 10,000 euros to repair.

Can they really pull out like this, we are willing to reduce the price by the 10,000 euros to help them out. We really want this sale to go ahead as it has wasted 3 months.

Do we have to sign the form?

I am not an expert on French law and will some experience of English Law.

However my understanding of the compromis situation is that you have seven days cooling off period and that is after the signing by both parties.  Indeed here in France there is a general acceptance that you have to look after yourself and take all reasonable steps to ensure you know what you are letting yourself in for.

Thus the purchasers must have seen your house for sale? perhaps once perhaps twice?

Then paid the 10% or even 5% deposit

Then seven days after that they are bound and they lose their deposit and in theory you can enforce the sale.

Surely there must be more to this than what appears for the acte de vente would be due for signing within days?

If it were me I would go to the Notaire stand your ground and ask what is happening.  Something behind this.

I would not sign any document at all and in the final analysis you are entitled so I believe to the 10% deposit plus damages.

I may be wrong so please do not act upon my thoughts without checking and on this forum there are much more experienced people than I.

rdgs

Best thing to do is to discuss it with the notaire and/or agent. But before you do this, two questions for you: