Complete France Forum

Problems with Habitation Taxe

It's my first time posting on here and I'm just wondering if anyone has experienced this problem...

we have an appartement in Saint Brieuc purchased after selling the house we had which was also in Brittany.

For the second year running now we have been hit with an exorbitant bill of nearly 1,000 euros a year when the Taxe Fonciere is around 600 euros...I always was led to believe that the amounts were supposed to be similar?

When we had the cottage it was roughly 500 euros a year for both...and almost equal amounts for both...I'm just wondering if anyone could shed any light on why there is such a big gap between the 2 amounts now and why it's such an exorbitiant amount...I've tried looking at the paperwork but nothing seems to be explained on there and we've not been able to afford to pay it in one go so they charged us a fee on top?

Are these bully tactics normal or maybe just the area we are in?

We had to pay in instalments last year(in 3) and one of the letters we received when asking to pay in instalments was threatening!

This year we wanted to pay in three instalments but they've only allowed us two?

Are these unflexible tactics normal also?

I really do not wanna have to contact the people myself since I feel so angry that we've been treated like this!

We are now having to sell up as a result as we can't afford another year of this exorbitant amount which they demand in one go!

Its not in a particularly posh area or anything and as much as I used to love our holidays there I now no longer even want to go there although we have to in order to bring our belongings back...

It just makes me feel so angry and sick and having read another post on this forum it would seem that the french seem to love their taxes....!