Complete France Forum

Floor tiles on the wall?

confused of chalus

Having successfully (great sigh of relief) tiled our floor we have enough over to do splashbacks in the kitchen. Is there any reason why we cant use floor tiles on the wall? They are glazed ceramic 340 x 340 and 7mm thick.

Also,back to the floor, we have grouted in beige and wondered whether to put on some kind of sealant to keep it clean.

thanks, Kathy

I wouldn't imagine there would be any particular problem, in fact I have no professional experience of tile laying but have stuck floor tiles on bits of my kitchen and other rooms without any real problems. But as I mention I am definitely not a practitioner in the art.

In fact I am not a practitioner in anything since I arrived in france in 1996.

No reasons why you couldn't tile walls with floor tiles (except if walls are too thin to hold the weight). As the tiles are glazed, I don't see any reason why you should add protection to the floor....unless you intend to wash it with left over tomatoe soup....[:D]

I have used 300 by 600mm floor tiles (bêton ciré) behind kitchen worktops and very nice they look too, bloomin hard to cut the holes for the prises murales though, I had to use a diamond core bit in a pillar drill at low speed with plenty of water, takes a long time. 

[quote user="confused of chalus"]Also,back to the floor, we have grouted in beige and wondered whether to put on some kind of sealant to keep it clean.

thanks, Kathy[/quote]

Our tile supplier recommended we purchased a bottle of sealant for the grout. I thought it was just another way of parting me from yet more money, and declined. Having laid the tiles, and grouted, we rapidly changed our minds, and applied the produit. A bit tedious to apply, but the effect is remarkable! I would highly recommend it!