Making a living out of a gite business

rachelb

I am in discussions with my husband about the viability of moving to France and making money from a gite and B&B business. I am also a yoga teacher and would hope to keep this going (I teach pregnant women and children predominantly).  We have also thought about building an indoor pool to hire out year round.  We would be able to hire out the yoga studio for other classes/ training, and a treatment room for therapists.
My husband is concerned that a gite business can make max 20k and is only a 6 month a year income. He won't consider a relocation unless we are financially safe and risks are kept to an absolute minimum.
We have two young children and woud not want to disrupt them and their education and their current comfortable life by coming home broke!!
Can anyone advise on cost of living/ bills/ etc. so I can work out how much we would need to make to make this work???
My husband seems to have gone too far the other way - 'we would need to make 40k pa even if we were mortgage free', etc, etc...
We had also thought about my husband retraining to be a plumber before we came out for additional income but the plumbing course costs 5k!!!
Any advise welcome.

Lots of things are inter-related.

For example costs depend on location, and the cheapest are not those where you can make money apart from the B&B

For example if you buy an idyllic rural place, where will you find your 'pregnant women and children' to teach? (I assume that you are not  bilingual )

If you live in a city where you can both (perhaps) find employment, it isn't the ideal location to buy  a B&B, unless you have a large capital.

For cost there was a recent thread.

Unfortunately one of the first rules of running gites and B&B seems to be that if you need a mortgage, it will be very difficult, or involve an inordinate amount of luck/marketing skill, in order to make a living.