Complete France Forum

Tell me again about the 2-year limit for............

mint

being able to own 2 properties before you sell one and have to pay Capital Gains Tax?

It seems that the OH and I will be buying another property next week here in France.

No, we're not capitalists and trying to make loadsa money or anything as exciting as all that.

However, we might be buying another property for when we are too old or too decrepit to look after our present one.

Can someone, who knows about these things, please advise me as to whether I could keep 2 properties for up to 2 years before selling one without incurring CGT in France.

I understand that neither property could be let and that insurance and TH and TF will be payable on one or both.

No, I'm NOT a property speculator, merely trying to provide for our own future and, hopefully, not have to depend on anybody or, perish the thought, the State, to provide for us.

Thank you in advance for your thoughts.

You may be thinking a little too hard. You currently live in house A, which is your main residence. You buy house B, and presumably either let it or renovate it or both, or just use it as a holiday home. Eventually, you sell house A (whilst it is still your main residence) and move into House B. There is no CGT to pay on House A, because it was your main residence at the time that you sold it. Are you thinking that you might transfer your main residence to be house B whilst then using A as an investment property? If so then if you have owned house A for fifteen years or more at the time of sale, then again there would be no CGT to pay on the sale of house A.

Regards

Pickles

Thank you, Pickles.  No, not trying to be clever or to avoid taxes; merely trying to work out what we have to pay.

House A, still here, still main residence.

House B, probably by the end of next week.

So, we pay TH, TB, etc on both.  Chances are, we will be moving into House B next year or the year after, when we have sold House A.