Complete France Forum

Scuba diving

NuBeginnings

If any one is thinking about learning to dive or wants some general information on diving feel free to PM me.Life before moving to France and opening a boot camp. I worked in the dive industry teaching diving and filming cool marine life.

Gives you an example of the kind of stuff I used to shoot.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dxd8fDBQjqk

I am a recreational diver and I joined a local dive club here in France, despite having more logged dives than all but the niveau 5 monitor and there  existing a passerelle to niveau 3 I have had to patiently start again as a novice, 15 months on and  they will now allow me to dive to 6 metres autonome, - wit woo!! [:-))].

They are completely ignorant and frighetened of anything in the diving world outside of French speaking countries, we went to Nemo33 in Brussels and they freaked out because I hadnt passed my niveau 1 with them at that point, refused to have me on the palanquer which was fine by me, I said I woud dive autonome, they said that Nemo would only accept a French diving qualification and that like them they would have no idea what my SSI certificate was.

I had great pleasure in showing them that Nemo33 is actually an SSI dive centre and school [:D] Nobody had ever noticed it because the poster was in English.

I will shortly be changing clubs because despite us having a brand spanking new €48000 Zodiac half paid for by the Mairie they will only use it twice per year and then I have to travel to Cassis or Corse to dive with them [:(]

I know where you are coming from, early 90's I opened my own dive centre in Spain. The rules and regulations and hoops I had to jump through were incredible. I had to go and be tested by a 2* CMAS instructor that I could dive. given that I was the equivalent to a 3* instructor it was laughable. The best thing was I came back after the dive with 75 bar more than the guy testing me :-)