Complete France Forum

Terrain Constructible?

Gardian

I wonder whether anybody can help with this problem that has been rumbling on for a couple of years?  I’ll try to be as succinct as possible with the facts: 

• Adjoining our property is a plot of land (c.1350m2), which was originally part of our French neighbour’s total plot before he bought it in the late-90’s.

• The original owner (who was the developer of the small estate) occupied the double plot because this smaller section was declared non-constructible when the estate was built in the early-70’s. The reason for this was because of the difficulties of access (just 3m wide) and that the plot was boxed-in on 3 sides with the 4th side a steep downhill slope.

• Copies of the original declaration are in my neighbour’s possession, but our commune Mairie has no record of this documentation (and frankly, doesn't seem all that interested).

• Ownership of the plot has passed to an individual (a builder by profession) who lives some 20kms away and who has stated his intention to either build a property on the plot or sell it for development by a 3rd party. He first declared his intention over 2 years ago.

• It now appears that the plot is being marketed by a local developer as being constructible with plans for a two storey house offered as an all-up package.

• The viewers who have been round, have quickly back-tracked and hardly surprisingly because of the access difficulties and the probable high cost of making the site developable – there are c.100 oak trees, each about 20m high which would need to be uprooted and removed, to say nothing of the provision of the usual utilities and other services.

• There is a dispute between my neighbour and the owner over precisely where the boundary line runs – on face value it seems minor, but involves a section roughly 3m x 35m along their adjoining boundary.