Complete France Forum

Inheritance Tax

mickey jim

My mother died a short while ago. She was living in the England when she died. I am a French resident and tax payer.

My mother left a small amount and there is no inheritance tax due in the uk.

However, what is the legal procedure here a) do I need to declare it on my tax form next year (and if so, does anyone know where), and b) will I need to pay any tax on it in France?

Thanks.

[quote user="mickey jim"]My mother died a short while ago. She was living in the England when she died. I am a French resident and tax payer.

My mother left a small amount and there is no inheritance tax due in the uk.

However, what is the legal procedure here a) do I need to declare it on my tax form next year (and if so, does anyone know where), and b) will I need to pay any tax on it in France?

Thanks.[/quote]

Hi,

If you have been in France less than 6 years then there is no liability. If you have been here "more than 6 years of the last 10", there is a theoretical liability, under a law which was never intended to apply to cases like yours, but was badly conceived and drafted. . As an heir in direct line you would anyway have ,in France , an inheritance- tax- free allowance of 156 359€. If as you indicate it is less than that ,then even if you have been here over the time limit, I suggest you do nothing.( In fact I would do nothing in any case, even if theoretically liable--I would wait and see if they picked it up, unlikely if banked outside France, and only respond if questioned --provided you don't attempt to conceal the facts once you have been asked , there will not be any penalties.

Thanks Parsnips.