Complete France Forum

Gas ovens and soggy bottoms

idun

I am having real problems with my new gas oven.

It cooks some things well, however, my baking is paying the price of me not understanding how to use it well, OR that gas cookers just don't 'bake' very well.

My merangues are molles and I have for the very first time ever had soggy bottoms on my pies, tonight I baked until the tops were too well cooked, but the bottoms were only just cooked. This is truly castrophic for me, and must be remedied ASAP.

Am I doing something wrong?

Is it possible to bake meringue in a gas oven?

AND how do I not get a soggy bottom on a pie?

Very unusual for you to have baking "flops" idun.

Pastry is something I'm not good at, and I never make meringues, so can't offer specific advice.

The only points I can make is that british gas ovens have burners at the back, as opposed to french gas ovens which have burners in the base. And pastry needs to be baked in a pre-heated hot oven (which I'm sure you know.)

At least I have alternative electric ovens here, one in the garage and one in the utility room, but I would rather use my new one if I get away with it.

The burners are at the bottom at the back and it is a Cannon Cooker and was not cheap and I do preheat too.

Cooking is the 'thing' I usually do very well, I'm not always good at other things in life, so this is not good.

My French gas oven (20+ years old now) tends to burn the bottom of things- completely the opposite of yours, Idun! To the extent that I always put a wodge of tinfoil on the bottom shelf, below the shelf I am baking on, to try and diffuse the heat a bit.

I have never dared try meringues in it...

Angela

[:)] So it could be a soggy bottom or a burnt bottom. That is really what I didn't want to hear.

My egg custard had a soggy bottom too, it is demoralising to put all that love and effort into baking and it to be awful.