Complete France Forum

Problems with CDD CDI.. some clarity here?

Workinggirl

I have been working at a private bilingual school in France for three years now as an English primary teacher.

I began on a CDD maternity cover contract for 4 months. The person on mat leave decided not to come back so they kept me on but they gave her CDI to someone else who had been waiting for it longer. The procedure for the CDI distribution here has been just that. When a person on the ENGLISH staff leaves, the first one who has been there gets the contract.

When I started, Sept 2013, another girl also started (let's call her Jane). She too was covering a maternity leave. Only that she herself was pregnant (but did not tell the boss until the very last moment) so her person came back that Feb and so she did not complete the year.

Jane returned the following September to cover someone else's mat leave and then to cover another mat leave in Feb.

ANYWAY, I had been waiting for a CDI all this time, when suddenly somebody had quit in late August, 2015, right before the commencement of the school year.

As Jane was forced to seek other employment, my boss called her and asked her to take over. Jane demanded that she get a CDI. Though I had put in more time working and had gone on week long trips with the students etc all of which Jane had not done, my boss gave her the CDI out of desperation. She had also promised me the next one earlier that year, but knowing I'd be back anyway, gave it to Jane. I complained of course but she stressed that regardless of how much more time Ive worked than Jane, Jane and I started on the same date so we were both equally eligible. Little did my boss know, Jane was pregnant.

My boss is an old rude woman. I hate to generalize but she is highly unprofessional and extremely mean to those she does not favor. She did not love neither me nor Jane so it was no surprise she did something along these lines to me.