Complete France Forum

phones/ internet access

Please assume I have no knowledge on this subject. We have a new apartment in France, which we will be using for varying periods during the year. We now would like internet access, and think a phone is required first. There are phone points installed, but I don't know how to go about getting any phone we buy to work.

Also, having looked at France Telecom website, I see there is an option for second homes, with the option to have it switched off up to 6 times a year; does anyone know if this is applicable to our situation, having homes in UK and France, or is this just for 2 homes in France.

Thanks, Jo

Just as in UK you will have to ask FT to connect you up as a new customer and pay the €16/mth line rental. You will have the option to suspend it.

As for Internet that is a little more tricky as most ISP's will only sign you up for a 12 month contract which you cannot stop and start. The only ISP I know of who offer a 'sans engagement' package are Teleconnect who say that you can cancel at any time (note cancel, not suspend) but there are cancellation fees plus each time you do you will have to return their router to them so you would have to work out which is best for you.

[quote user="Quillan"]Another alternative is to have a laptop with Wifi and visit your local Mcdoos where they all have free Wifi apparently.
[/quote]

I don't want to high-jack this thread but!

We are a little way of even getting a phone line installed and eventually will get a 'residence secondaire' service, but in the mean time what would I need to get on line at the local 'McDonalds (we have one about 8 miles away and I am partial to the odd 'Big Mac'[+o(][:P])

I don't have a laptop yet but will be getting one for Christmas[:D], so what would I need? and more importantly how would I do it!

Advice from any one who has done this, and do all MacDonald in France have this facility?