Complete France Forum

location vente sans apport?

Debra

I've had an email from someone asking if I would be interested on

selling my property on 'location vente sans apport'.  Does anyone know

anything about this?  Is it better or worse than the 'Credit vendeur

total sans bouquet' option I've heard of?

They sound very similar, except that location vente suggests a sort of rent while purchasing the rent going towards the sale price at after a certain time , whereas in the second you simply lend the total purchase price to the buyer who then pays you back in installments.

In both cases the buyer wouldn't have to put down anything up front so I'd be wary.

I have no personal experience of either, though I did consider buying en viager a while back, which is different again of course.

With Norman on this one, Debra.  Unless you're very desperate to sell, I'd keep well, well clear.

Basically it involves someone paying you the equivalent of a monthly rent plus a little bit of capital towards the purchase price.  At the end of the contract term, they then pay you a lump sum for whatever is left of the purchase price.

And who would be attracted by such a scheme?  Well, people who can't raise a bank mortgage and who haven't saved up enough money for a house deposit, of course.  So, what chance their ability to fulfill their part of the bargain?  Pretty slim, in my estimation.  It might work between family members - father/mother with big family house, children trying to make a go of things, that kind of situation.  But between strangers?  NO ........

EDIT:  And another thing :

And during all this time, who's responsible for maintaining the building, keeping it watertight etc?  Well, you, of course - you're the owner [+o(].  And what happens when, at the end of the contract, they refuse to pay over the rest of the capital?  You're stuffed, cent pour cent ...

"Run, Debra - RUN!" [:D]