Complete France Forum

Oil central heating

Nick Trollope

I have decided to ditch my fioul central heating, and replace it with electric (old 200MSq stone house), because;

I can't afford to buy oil at the rate of 2000L/year & it ain't gonna get no cheaper,

The radiators are all 25years old & not very efficient.

The pipework is what I remember from my days in "industry" as "black pipe" - we used it for air,

The burner is new, but the boiler is old,

It doesn't really heat the house,

The tanks take up most of the garage,

I have HC water heating (new C-E) and a 15Kw supply,

I am an electrician (although I understand wet CH systems).

Am I being short-sighted?

hi nick

ok funny question this comming from you  ( i would be expecting you to be replying to it not asking it )

no one better qualified but you to work out the electric heating costs ... 15kw supply  for heating and the rest you could have to go up here.

the pipe work is black iron  bsp thread same as our house no problem there

old boiler ??????? you should have a think here prehaps ????

rads should be ok , people hound out old rads and fit them to new systems and they work . so just taste here

oil prices rising ... leccy goes up with so does gas and wood

insulation could be worth looking at

a second heating source ... a wood burner ???

short sighted never, not when it comes to  try and save a bit of coin

dave

Will the gradual privatisation of EDF mean that prices are bound to rise? Dunno..........

Oil should come down to a more stable price after this Winter, since the oil majors have to adjust their prices in line with falling crude prices. Should: who knows?

I have always considered electric heating expensive: unless it is storage running off cheap rate.

But storage heating runs out at the very point that one needs it: 4-5.00 PM until bedtime!