Complete France Forum

Rewire costs

crossy67

I have had a very nice English electrician round today to measure up for a quote to re wire our house.  It's 3 story 5 bed room with en suite and a few other bits and bobs.  Back in the UK one of my best mates is an electrician so any wiring work has always been done at mates rates so I have absolutely no idea what the costs are likely to be, €100? We will be needing new fuse box the lot.  Any one got any experiences thay would care to share, pm me your costs if you would prefer, I would just like to know the range of csts we could expect.

Ta.

Down here the going rate seems to be between 90 and 100 Euros for every socket, switch and light outlet so say one room with two power sockets and one light with switch would be between 360 and 400 Euros depending on what type of material the walls are made of. If it's stone then it more likely to be around 100 to even 110 Euros each. The reason am told, and I am no expert, is that the very old conduit is too small and cannot accommodate three wires round sharp turns so you have to run new conduit or whatever its called because it's bigger. The prices take in to acount a new 'fuse' box.

We covered this previously, I was smarting, the quotes specifically do not include chasing cables into walls since I have a skirting duct around all rooms.
http://www.completefrance.com/cs/forums/1852191/ShowPost.aspx

I had a quote for wiring a 2-bed gite barn conversion @ €5000, (though we were advised it was not to conseuil standard, ie not telephone and TV points everywhere, that would be an additional €2000!) we then had a second devi from another.
Our second quote €8400!! including 22 Prise de courant at €67 each (this includes the wiring I believe!)