Jump to content
Complete France Forum

Bank e-mail scams reach France


Recommended Posts

If you get an e-mail message like this one, please ignore it. On no account send any information to the links in the message. If you aren't sure it's a 'phishing' scam, then just ask yourself why French banks should be contacting customers in dodgy English.

"Dear Societe Generale/ BNP Paribas/ CIC Banque/ Banque CCF Member,

This email was sent by your Bank server to verify your e-mail address. You must complete this process by clicking
on the link below and entering in the small window your Societe Generale/ BNP Paribas/ CIC Banque/ Banque CCF
online access details. This is done for your protection - because some of our members no longer have access to
their email addresses and we must verify it. To verify your e-mail address, click on the link below:

If you have Societe Generale account:http://www.societegenerale.fr/0CvjuN4N37ZKVmlpUBval3r1a5e9agb1n
If you have BNP Paribas account:http://www.bnpparibas.com/oKa9YmhUBLok6iYneZoZzk4F3kg3cm5s0h1anje3
If you have CIC Banque account:http://www.cic.fr/cnXQLjpQ4MqOHl2UvOF7rndLcSsBn80E7pa0s5x91h8r1y3x4x
If you have Banque CCF account:http://www.ccf.fr/FXw0qPYgBN9qru0AXwBn4Jvm2tFcxMZWg2w15p4q1vfbb


Link to comment
Share on other sites

You beat me to it. If anyone has a query then go to your branch, take this email with you and ask them if there is a problem with your account do not under any circumstances answer or click on any of these links.

Will - I think this is VERY important, can you put a 'sticky' on it?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

I recieved one of the e-mails some weeks ago and being that this is my (or used to be) domain (IT Security), I decided to test their system.  The whole thing actualy points to false web sites set up in Russia (if you click on the links and watch the IE top bar you will see that it flashes up details of a Russian registered domain first).

They obviously did not like what I told them to do with their scam and tried sending me loads of e-mails with trojans, viruses etc.  Then they followed this with e-mails telling me that my e-mail account was being closed etc etc etc.  Funny, but why would a French ISP send an e-mail header in English...these guys are pretty good but not that good.

Rgds,  Mike L

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...