Complete France Forum

Why just target teachers?

mint

Is this governments aim to simply turn sections of the population against each other - people v the unemployed, teachers, firemen, civil servants , who next?

Some schools may have high sickness rate, unless the government address why orl parents make any correlation between these schools and the behaviour of their own offspring, what is the point of the exercise?

They will have to be careful how much information they release - the HR Act is now with us.

Not sure the Govt is doing that, rather it is trying to make those paid from the public purse work for their money and perhaps making sure those jobs are necessary.

Apropos of teachers, there is no obligation for teachers to cover for absent colleagues now, in the State sector; whilst I have a degree of sympathy with this, it means that there is no moral imperative to come in to work.

And the public sector in general does take many more sick days than the private. Whether this applies to teachers or not remains to be seen.

Salaries scales of public sector employees eg teachers, professional NHS workers, police etc are already published and hence freely available.

Sickness levels have certainly been highlighted in recent times and "management" are always devising and publicising strategies to reduce these.

What I'd be interested in for the public sector is the proportion of staff on "senior pay" and whether one particular organisation  e.g. school, NHS Trust, council  etc, was perhaps "top-heavy" compared to similar institutions. Can't say I've delved, but can't imagine that its easy to find.

There does seem to be a move towards more openness, certainly in these difficult times (eg, yet again, the BBC) and this I do applaud.

Mr R51  (Mrs R51 is in France, lucky person!)

Wooly wrote  

" And the public sector in general does take many more sick days than the private. Whether this applies to teachers or not remains to be seen. "