Complete France Forum

Squatters in Paris - need honest assessment of the risk

Joemo

Hello to everyone! This is my first post here, and I've done a ton of reading just from the information found in the forums. What a great place! Here's my reason for the new post:

I'm currently an attorney in the USA, and am considering purchasing a Paris apartment of moderate cost (250-350,000 euros). I get to Paris about 1 month in total every year, and would like my own place along with something that I can let close family use should they decide to travel there.

So, for arguments sake, let's say the apartment is used only one month out of the year. I've heard horror stories about people not being able to get squatters out of their property. In all seriousness, if I properly secure my place, is there a risk of someone attempting to inhabit it? If someone has broken into your place and lived there for a couple of months, are they not burglars first and squatters second?

Would it perhaps even make sense to let a vacation rental company rent it out, to see that it was properly taken care of? I understand that many rental firms will only rent to non-French in order to curb the possibility that someone will decide to "extend their stay."

Let me know your thoughts on this. I find this topic somewhat disheartening, but very interesting. It's such a departure from American/British property law. Thank you for all of your help!