Complete France Forum

Buildings insurance query..

Jensieboy

I'm due to take possesion of a barn I've just bought ( in France ) in a month or two's time. I will therefore need to arrange a basic buildings insurance cover from the moment I take over.

Here in the UK I own a flat. There are 3 conversion flats in one Victorian house and I and the other 2 owners have a combined buildings insurance with all 3 names on the policy. It is classed as a "block of flats" policy and seems to come under "commercial" insurance.

I have been letting the flat for 6 months and we have had a washing machine leak from my top floor flat into the flat below causing perhaps £200 - £300 worth or re-decorating costs. The lady in the flat below is in the process of filling in claim forms and getting quotes. I beleive she will be doing all the form filling. ( 'her' making the claim ? )

My question is - will making this claim affect any new policy I may wish to arrange in France ? The barn will be "privately" owned by myself and initially for me to live in. I feel ifthis will become awkward or start heavily affecting any new premium it might be worth coughing up the re-decorating costs from my own pocket...

Or is this not something to worry about or need to declare on any new French application ? I remember when I had a claim here in the UK for lost cameras on a "business" insurance policy I was told upon taking out a new "home contents" residential policy that the "business" claim would NOT need to be declared..

Am I being paranoid ? I do resent paying £1000's over many years and not 'using' the product when genuine need arises.

Thanks for any insights

I don't think I have ever been asked about previous insurance claims.  Perhaps they asked if I had any no claims for the car but they most certainly would have disallowed any

Anyway, should cost you practically nothing to insure your barn if it has to be completly renovated.  Especially if there is no water....therefore no floods.