Complete France Forum

Legal Advisor

Loopy Lou

Hi,

Could you recommend to me a Legal Advisor (and/or Financial Advisor) that you have used?  I am still based in the UK and would like to take advice before I make the move.

If there is an advisor that you would avoid, please PM me.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Loopy

Dear Ron,

Legal - the correct purchase contract, wills and inheritance, business set-up (uniquely, I want to run gites )........

Finance - insurance, bank account, budgeting, personal finance.........

I am divorced with 4 grown-up children (the youngest is going to university in September) whom I have been bringing up on my own for the past 17 years.  I want to give up the rat race and move to France to run a gite business.  I have been planning this for the past 5 years and have been reading the various forums (Living France, Total France, Lay My Hat) for years.  I speak reasonable French - I can hold a conversation that is not just superficial.  I have lived as an ex-patriate before in interesting countries and want to live abroad once more before I get too old.  It's my turn now.

So I'm not totally naive with rose tinted glasses.  I know I will be taking a huge gamble and that is why I would like some professional advice before I embark on this adventure.  The gites will be my sole income, although I plan to take a TEFL course so that I can be an English language tutor as well (I have old-style A level English and French from the 20th Century!), or perhaps I could teach French to the English.  I am determined to make a go of living and working in France.

I will now await comments pro and con!

Loopy

Hi TU,

Yes, that's what I want.  No favoritism - they will each get a fair share of my old age care and my debts!  I've told them to shove me in the most expensive home they can find when I become an old hag (what do you mean "become" I hear them cry).

LL