Complete France Forum

Consumer rights

Toonblade

Hi all,

i've just visited the Uk for a couple of days and on my return i had a problem with my car due to buying something for it in the uk.

because i am a resident of france now i was wondering if this would affect my consumer rights in the UK and affect how i could go about claiming compensation??

any advice would be greatly appreciated

paul

[quote]Hi all, i've just visited the Uk for a couple of days and on my return i had a problem with my car due to buying something for it in the uk. because i am a resident of france now i was wondering i...[/quote]

Being resident in France has no bearing on your consumer rights in the UK. I doubt if, under any circumstances you would be entitled to "compensation", unless you could prove loss (over and above the value of what you bought). If you take the "thing" back to the supplier, then he will probably a) refund you b) replace it or c) repair it. Whatever, his liability is (broadly speaking) limited to the value of the "thing" (or rather, what you paid for it). You are unlikely to get a) consequential loss (read the suppliers t's & c's)  b)the cost of transporting the "thing" or the vehicle back to the UK or c) your time (or a 3rd parties time) paid for.

What "compensation" are you after.

Sorry if this is not what you wanted to hear. BTW, IANAL.

Accepting all that has just been said, you might have a very slim chance if you purchased the "thing" specifying exactly the vehicle it was to fit and the purpose that you required it for. If you were then sold the wrong "thing" you could have some possibility of claiming more than the market value of the thing.

This has nothing to do with the manufacturers Ts & Cs, more the negligence of the supplier.

However, I would not rate your chances too high.

Brian.

hi guys,