Complete France Forum

Dealing with a leak

DZ

OK, so no one did say it would be easy owning a property in France! 

We had a serious leak last week caused by the builder in the flat above our maison secondaire.  After many interesting (?!) conversations with the said builder, his wife etc, got all the necessary information and passed onto my insurance.  They said they would organize for someone to come and give us a quote for the repair job, but that was a week ago and nothing since.

I am a total novice as to how French insurers work (and living in the UK full time doesn't help).  Can anyone advise me whether we need to wait for the insurers to organize a devis, or would we be better off actively looking for a builder who would provide a quote?

Also, on reporting the leak, I was told by my insurers that they would pay for the damaged ceiling but not for the floor, and that it's our "assurance immobiliere" that is to cover that - what is that?!  We have not been paying for anything else but the building insurance we have with Pacifica.

I am totally lost (Je suis dans les choux?!).  Good practice for my French anyway...

No answers probably means that people have not had similar experiences.  Maybe another question then: If you ever had to contact your French insurance firm, is it best to let them send their people to arrange a quote or is it better to arrange a "devis" yourself? 

Thanks for any help!

As we seem to be scraping the barrel for info ...