Complete France Forum

Weekly commute Brittany - London

We'll be moving to Brittany in a year or so, and I'm in the process of working out how to earn a living. At present I'm a freelance IT consultant and frequently find myself in contracts far from home.

If I can't get a decent living in France (the preferred option) then I could consider doing about 3-4 months a year in London (or wherever) to get enough to take the rest of the year off. The question is "how to commute?"

As far as I can see, there are no suitable flights from Rennes or Nantes (out Monday early-ish, back Friday PM) and using the Western Channel ferry services would mean getting home Saturday morning and leaving again Sunday evening -- not good.

Does anyone know if there are any options that would fit my needs? I know things may change before I move, but I've got to start somewhere.

For comparison, a while back I had a colleague who could be back in La Rochelle from London before I got home to Gloucestershire.

Ryanair Dinard to Stansted is probably your best bet - fine for coming home Friday but you might need to travel back to London on Sunday afternoon.  Fairly reliable all year around service providing Dinard Airport isn't closed by snow which happened a couple of weeks ago on a Friday!

For more options, you could consider taking the Condor fast ferry service from St Malo to Jersey (usually 8am out of St. Malo gets into Jersey 8.10am) and then more flight options to either Gatwick or London City from Jersey.

Albert,

By the way you have posted on the forum, you very much appear to be

still some time away from moving here ? I  know you said things

are likely to change and in that respect, what anyone tells you now,

could be well off the

mark by the time you arrive. Already flight destinations and companies

have come and gone, new ones have come and gone and new routes have

taken their

place, some have stayed, some have gone seasonal only and some have