Complete France Forum

Original Thought

letrangere

I'm currently studying for the French Ministry of Education's DALF diploma, that invaluable piece of paper that enables non-native French speakers to study at a French university. However, I am very rapidly coming to terms with the fact that although I may have the required level of language ability, I most certainly do not have the right approach to answering a French examiner's questions. Hence, between now and November I am being formally coached in what can only be described as the "French way of thinking". This has brought home to me - not that I ever doubted it - the enormous differences between our two countries in intellectual approach. "Original thought" something that is encouraged, almost insisted upon, in the British education system from an early age. But in France? Forget it, not only is unwelcome it's a positive obstacle to success. In fact, judging by my frustrating two hours in the classroom last night, it's the path to failure!

M

My dermatologist gets very annoyed about philo, when doing her BAC, she had wanted to discuss many of the great philosophers' ideas, but got bad marks when she did, and she never liked having to simply 'accept and quote'.

I was talking to my friend's daughter last week, she is in the middle of her BAC in a lycee with an international section. She says that there are many of the lessons she prefers in english. She did comment that a friend of hers had done an essay on a famous poem, 'giving an alternative and coherant argument about the poet's intention and meaning',her words. She also said that it was an excellant and intelligent piece of work and as was done during the english lessons got the 19/20 it deserved. Adding that it would have been considered heresay to even consider using independant thought during philo or any french class. Conformity seems to be the but, rather than using one's imagination.

LAST EDITED ON 22-Jun-04 AT 01:43 PM (BST)