Complete France Forum

Jerusalem artichokes

Cat

I've been given a huge bag of Jerusalem artichokes (topinambour) by my neighbour.  I plan to plant a few of the smaller ones in the veg patch, as Mr Cat loves them.

As for the rest, I've found quite a few recipes online, but would love to hear your favourite recipes for them, as I've never used them before.

PS, I've already been warned about the gale-force farty after-effects [+o(]

We just roast our in the same way as parsnips .... Or make a carrot onion garlic celery stock , whisk down to a liquid , roast and finley chop the JAs with some spinarch cook inthe stock do a gentle whisk so its still chunky and makes a loverly soup ... 

also roast in the skins with Rosemary and garlic squeeze the soft flesh out of the JAs and the garlic fork together and spread cold on toast like a pate ....with a little olive oil drizzle ... 

PS you can freeze the soup in old water bottles for another day

• 3 weeks later...

...please forgive me if this posting does not look "quite right", I am a complete noob to the forum (and am not yet au fait with the layout!).[:$]

I love JAs, as Tony F says, they do spread and are hard to remove from a plot once established.  They are also fairly tall, so perhaps plant them as a "wind break".  Whilst on that subject, Winter Savoury (Satureja montana) is said to be a great remedy and may be included in bean and JA recipes both for flavour and to save one's blushes...[:D]

...thank you very much Dog - very kind![:)]  What do you ride (if it's not too much off topic to ask)?  As far as the secret to Le Petomane's success goes... I imagine it hinged to a fairly high degree on being able to get the right sort of appreciative audience [+o(][:D]  Are you also a bit yogic by the way..?